Blogging Meme

This Meme has been doing the rounds of all the NZ teachers on Twitter, and having thought I’d escaped, I’ve been tagged by Libby @schuknight. I’m yet to post anything to this blog, so it seems a fairly decent way to at least get myself started.

The blogging task includes:

  • Acknowledge the nominating blogger.
  • Share 11 random facts about yourself.
  • Answer the 11 questions the nominating blogger has created for you.
  • List 11 bloggers.
  • Post 11 questions for the bloggers you nominate to answer, and let all the bloggers know they have been nominated.  Don’t nominate a blogger who has nominated you.
11 random facts about me:
  1. I love dance. I especially love teaching dance and running Stage Challenge at school is one of my favourite parts of my job.
  2. I have a Master of Arts in Linguistics. My Thesis was called ‘Muslim Women in Wellington: Discursive Construction of Religious Identify in Personal Narratives. It is in no way related to my life as a teacher but I loved every moment of doing it.
  3. I have never broken a bone in my body. Though suspected stress fractures did land me in a moonboot for 6 weeks. Try teaching dance in that!
  4. I am totally Apple-loyal, having grown up with it.
  5. Collage makes me really happy.
  6. To do lists and filling out forms also makes me really happy.
  7. I am known for having the super brightly coloured classroom and the most organised one at school.
  8. I really enjoy planning things and research.
  9. Tomatoes on toast is my ideal breakfast.
  10. I come from a family of teachers and I married into a family of teachers.
  11. I love writing, but I never make enough time to do it.
My answers to Libby’s questions:
 

  1. What was the best thing about 2013? The birth of my son in November, he just amazes me everyday.
  2. What is your favourite sport or physical pastime? Dancing!
  3. Who do you look up to within education? I really admire the work of my former teacher Keri-Lee Beasley who is now in Singapore, but closer to home I really look up to my amazing Principal Angela Lowe, and awesome DP Lena Meinders.
  4. What is the best moment you have had as an educator? Umm, there are lots of amazing moments, I love it when kids really get something and you see their faces light up, and I had so many awesome geeky conversations with last year’s fantastic class. But big moments, I probably have two – last year seeing our kids serve their parents at our syndicate’s Street Food Fair, and Stage Challenge 2 years ago was an amazing buzz.
  5. WordPress or Blogger? Or something else? WordPress for my own blogging, Blogger for kids’ blogging. Also quite like Weebly for web design.
  6. How much time do you think you are ‘connected’ every week? Not sure I actually want to work that out. Suffice to say, a lot!
  7. How do you spend your lunchtimes during term time? Mostly teaching dance or coaching aerobics or on duty. Not really a fan of the lunchtime staffroom.
  8. How do you ‘chill out’? Playing with my beautiful wee boy, listening to music, reading, dancing.
  9. What would be your most favourite holiday? My honeymoon in Malaysia was awesome, but I also love spending time in Raglan too.
  10. What would you be doing if not teaching? I was about to say teaching dance, but then that would still be teaching. Really can’t imagine. Maybe editing, or doing copy layout? Actually probably I’d train as a pysiotherapist.
  11. Would you rather be hot or cold? Cold if I’ve got enough clothing on, otherwise hot.

Here are your 11 questions:

  1. What was the professional highlight of 2013 for you?
  2. What is your favourite colour?
  3. Apple or Windows?
  4. What do you prefer to read, fiction or non-fiction and why?
  5. If you were a super-hero what would your catch phrase be?
  6. Where is your favourite place to travel to?
  7. What is your favourite subject/topic to teach?
  8. What would your perfect Sunday afternoon look like?
  9. What is your favourite song?
  10. What is the best book you have read in the past year?
  11. What are most excited about professionally for 2014?
Leave a Reply

