Taking time out

Last term was a big term for me professionally and saw the culmination of a couple of big things I’d be working on for quite sometime. It also happened to be our major reporting term, and by the end of it, I was feeling pretty tired burnt out. I had gone straight from 8 hours of Stage Challenge rehearsal a week (on top of a full teaching load) culminating in an amazing, exhilarating, exhausting, brilliant 15 hour day mid way through the term, to prepping 50 chromebooks and iPads for deployment, followed immediately by the launch of Google Apps for Education for our students and then straight into report writing. Along with all that, or maybe because of it, my class were pushing the boundaries and exploring limitations sometimes in really great ways, but often in ways that were disruptive to their own learning.

I was exhausted!

Something had to change. I need to drop something just for my own sanity.

So I took myself temporarily off twitter and let the twitter stream keep flowing without me.

I love twitter, and it really is such a fantastic and challenging inspiration for professional learning. I love the community we are building there and on Google+ as New Zealand Educators. But it can be overwhelming, and in term 2 I had reached that point. I desperately wanted to finish #hackyrclass but I had to face the reality that I wasn’t in the right space to make the most of it. So I just quietly slipped out of twitter for a ‘few’ weeks (six weeks later…).

I decided to just enjoy the space in my life and you know what? Some really awesome big long term projects (in my other professional life as director of a dance centre) started to emerge and so did a sense of calm.

So here I am at the start of term 3, feeling so much more relaxed, actually enjoying my students, looking forward to getting into lots of professional learning and happy in myself and in my job. Yes, I undoubtedly missed some awesome things on twitter and some great opportunities to connect, but there is little point (to my mind at least) in collecting awesome ideas if I don’t have the time or energy to implement them. I’m starting to reconnect now, and there’s a lot to be said for taking some time out and coming back with refreshed eyes.

 

 

 

 

One thought on “Taking time out

  1. […] post is Day 26 of My Questioning Quest. It was prompted by observations of myself and my PLN plus this awesome post by Brie Jessen-Vaughan on switching off from twitter for 6 weeks and is feeling so refreshed […]

Leave a Reply

